Last week I received an email from Iconix Ltd, responding to a letter I had sent them, regarding employment. At least that is what they claimed. I had never heard about them, nor had I sent them a letter. I let the email sit in my inbox for a bit, as it obviously was a phishing email and I couldn’t bothered dealing with it. Until this week when I got a bit bored and curious.
I replied back to Victoria Fisher, asking why they had sent me this email as I had never heard about them, nor sent them this fictitious letter they claim to have received from me.
Victoria then said she had found me on seek.com.au and I would be perfect for the job. I kindly declined and said I was busy to work 20 hours extra a week when I’m busy at the university and being a freelance journalist.
She tried to get me to fill out the attached form they had sent me with the poorly worded job description, which was extremely ambiguous. Really not saying clearly what you would really be doing.
I decided to check out this company, Iconix Ltd. Doing an online search is just a nightmare as Iconix seems a bit too popular with companies. I did a whois on the domain name and found that they use a Russian web host, which only has a website in Russian – Ruskod. Iconix Ltd claims to be located in Auckland, New Zealand.
After browsing through the Iconix Ltd website, I noticed their logo didn’t look as polished as rest of the site. After searching around for a bit I found out it belonged to a professional film camera company in USA.
I sent an email to Victoria, asking why that is. No reply. I then decided to take a closer look at their location on Google Maps. A very nice building, looks very posh. Problem is though, after looking around online, that building is a residential building.
What is scary is that people fall for these scams. Usually there are two ways to call their bluff; it is the first time you ever hear of them and their poor command of English.
Info:
Iconix Ltd – http://www.iconixaust.com
Victoria Fisher – victoriafisher@iconixaust.com
Ruskod – http://www.ruskod.net
The Wiltshire On Victoria – http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=13301
Screenshots:



Thank you soooo much. I almost fell for this scam as I am a solo, unemployed mum who is desperately seeking work.
I am the Director of Iconix Ltd in the UK. In which country are you claiming that this scam is taking place ? I also own the domains http://www.iconixltd.co.uk and http://www.iconixltd.com
Hi Craig,
It is clearly stated in the write-up where they claim to operate and from where it is most likely this scam originates.